Italics in citations

I’m new to Fidus Writer so forgive me if there is an obvious answer to this question.

When I add my sources to the “Bibliography” tab, I’ve been using the little menu bar that appears under text in the “Title” field to italicize book and journal titles. While this italicizes text on the bibliography form itself, the italics do not carry over to the actual document or the print view that I see when I press Ctrl+P.

Am I doing something wrong or is there a solution to this problem? Thanks very much!

Hey @evans,
ultimately it is the citation style that decides how the bibliography will be rendered. Some may not allow styling at all, and so in those cases it will not show. Also, if you add bold/italic it will “flip-flop” - meaning that if the title should be italicized according to the citation style and you have marked a word inside of that title as italicized, then it will instead remove the italicized formatting from that word.

Note that this feature is not meant to italicize/underline/bolden the entire title of all bibliography entries. It’s meant for the very rare cases in which the title itself contains styling. This will happen in maybe 1 of a million cases where you have a book title such as the travel guide “Lₒndₒn”, “A cultural dictionary of PUNK” (where “PUNK” is underlined), “The FAT people”, etc. .

If you simply want all your titles to be italicized, then remove all the styling of the titles and instead pick a citation style that underlines/italicizes the parts that you want styled that way.

Did that make sense?